UNESCO in Piemonte: art, city and nature

Piemonte is rich in architectural, historical and environmental sites, the list of UNESCO World Heritagewhich are UNESCO World Heritage Sites and part of the regional tourist circuits.: These are sites of exceptional universal value, the the legacy of a past that we pass on to future generations. Let's find out together which are the UNESCO treasures in Piemonte!


The Residences of the Savoy in Piemonte

The elegant Residences of the House of Savoy in Piemonte stand out in the World Heritage List. The Crown of Delights of the Savoy is where you can immerse yourself into the court life. The complex of the Royal Residences of Piemonte was the first to be recognized by UNESCO in 1997. Discover the unique architectural, artistic and landscape masterpieces from Torino to Cuneo, through the Langhe Roero and Monferrato territory.


The Vineyards Landscape

The Langhe-Roero Monferrato are one of the treasures of Piemonte counting 10,789 hectares in the South of the region with a "core zone" divided into 6 areas: the Langa of Barolo, the Castle of Grinzane Cavour, the Hills of Barbaresco, the Nizza Monferrato and Barbera, the Canelli and Asti Spumante, the Monferrato of the Infernot, the ancient cellars dug by hand in the tuff. All areas are selected on the basis of the wine production of the individual territories, key places that tell the world of wine, architecture and local history in its evolution.


The Sacred Mounts 

The Sacred Mounts (Sacri Monti) are groups of chapels and architectural feautures dated back to the 1500s and 1600s, integrated in a natural environment and landscape. These sites allow suggestive climbs towards imposing sanctuaries or places of ancient worship, along with a journey into artistic representations of great power and beauty. Varallo, in the province of Vercelli, Orta, in the Novara area, Crea, in Serralunga di Crea, in the Alessandria area; Oropa (Biella), Belmonte (Turin /Torino), Ghiffa and Domodossola, in the Verbano-Cusio-Ossola area. These sites obtained UNESCO recognition in 2003 together with the two Lombard Sacred Mountains of Ossuccio and Varese.


UNESCO Cities 

Torino became a Creative City of Design in 2014, as the only Italian city in this category, thanks to its important role in the sector, one of the keys of its post-industrial development.

Alba as a capital of food and wine of Piemonte has been declared a Creative City of Gastronomy in 2017 for its strategic importance in the local food and wine sector, as well as in the economic and cultural field, along with the Langhe and Roero area.

Biella: the recognition as a Creative City of Crafts and Folk Art is rooted in its ancient textile tradition and in a creativity involving design, environment and art, as well as food and wine.

Ivrea has won UNESCO status as Industrial City of the 20th century in 2018. It is a distinctive example of the innovative experience of world-class industrial production aimed at the well-being of local communities. This is a complex realized between 1930 and 1960 by Adriano Olivetti together with the most famous Italian architects and urban planners of the twentieth century.


The prehistoric pile dwellings around the Alps

The group of 111 pile-dwelling sites in the Alps, extended between Switzerland, Austria, France, Germany, Italy and Slovenia, enlisted on the UNESCO World Heritage list in 2011 and also includes two settlements in Piemonte: the Viverone and Azeglio sites, between the provinces of Torino and Biella, and the site of the Lagoni di Mercurago Natural Park, in the Municipality of Arona (Novara).



The natural areas of Ticino Val Grande Verbano Park, the Monviso Natural Park, the Po and Collina Torinese Park are part of the UNESCO MAB (Man and the Biosphere) Program, run with a view to resource conservation and sustainable development. The Sesia Val Grande GeoPark, included in the UNESCO World Geoparks network, extends from Lake Maggiore to the border with Switzerland to Monte Rosa to the border with Valle d'Aosta.


UNESCO nominations in progress

Sacra di San Michele in the province of Torino: a serial nomination within "The cultural landscape of the Benedictine sites of Medieval Italy".

Via Francigena is a path made for thousand years by travelers, faithful and pilgrims, which crosses Piemonte from the Alps to the Po Valley. It is a part of an historical, cultural and spiritual journey that has always linked Rome to the rest of Europe.